top of page

Being an Adult is Picking a Hobby

When you're a kid, at some point or another you dabbled in a art, sport, or a strange hobby you're not sure how you got into. For instance, there was a summer I made soap. What? Who got me into that? How did a child like myself fall into the art of soap-making? Today if you asked me about soap, it would take me at least 20 minutes to offer the fun fact, I used to make it. On the other hand, I played every sport under the sun. Although (haha) there was no future in my athletic pursuits, I know how to play and would be a great addition to any team! The pursuit that did take up a lot of my childhood was singing and music. So I always joke, I'll be a Wedding Singer on the side of my job and laugh about it, but... that's actually a 100% plausible idea. I mean, what is to come of our past passions that we abandoned? Do we revisit them upon retirement? NO!

We're going to have to find a way to incorporate hobbies and past-times into our daily lives because all work and no hobbies, no interests, is no way to live. It's actually a secret of adults, they all have something going on. So, to remind you of some of the things you loved, some of the things you've wanted to try, I'm going to offer suggestions.

Did you love Art Class?

Because now you're going to order supplies, and after your weekend breakfast, you're going to set up across that bridge you love - and paint it! Or you're going to have your best-work friend sit for a portrait on a Wednesday night. You might surprise yourself by how talented you actually are.

Were you a Varsity Athlete?

Then the athletic gene is there and going to waste! You have good hand-eye coordination that would be a sin to not share with a team. Look into neighborhood rec teams! This is a great way to make friends, team sports rocked - remember? Just because you didn't go Pro doesn't mean you don't get a spot on the team!

You loved Band

If you played an instrument, chances are you worked your butt off and dedicated hours to perfecting this instrument like it was your J.O.B. Pick it back up. Do some online research, find a band that needs a trumpet player. Or be a back-up singer. Live your rockstar fantasies on such a rewarding small base, with fans that become friends.

You were actually so Crafty

Have a craft you were actually kind of good at? What about starting a little Etsy shop? Making money on the side, doing what you were secretly good at all the while. It might seem like a little bit of work, but you either walk away with time enjoyed spent crafting or extra money!

It's easy to work a 9-5 and pick up Netflix as a hobby. Netflix is good to all and a wonderful way to chill out. But if you're anything like me, I worry for my sense of fulfillment in my 20s. I worry about bettering myself. If I love my job and receive every sense of fulfillment through that then well done! However, if I do find time - I will work to fill my free-time with the interests I refuse to sweep under the table. If you've got a passion, talent, or a hobby you miss, pick it back up. When we're adults, we're not just professionals, we're people. Have more to talk about besides your job - start doing stuff! I know you want to!


DO YOURSELF A FAVOR, WATCH THESE MOVIES

#1 

The Princess Bride

 

#2

When Harry Met Sally

 

#3

Pirates of Carribbean III: At World's End

(No, this is not Irony, this film is good)

bottom of page